Diversified Resorts Additional Management Fee

Offline JulieJ

Re: Diversified Resorts Additional Management Fee
« Reply #20 on: July 29, 2016, 13:31:05 »
I just joined this Forum and notice this post.  As I am a retired UK solicitor a friend asked me to help him with this letter recently.

Please note that although I am still on the roll at the SRA I no longer have a practising certificate or any professional indemnity insurance as I have retired from the profession.  My role at Spanish firm JLCA Lawyers is purely marketing as I am not qualified to advise on Spanish law.

My views in this post are given freely and willingly.   However, if you are considering acting to your detriment in reliance on them you should take formal advice from a practising UK solicitor, who will have professional indemnity insurance.

Owners of these DR points are responsible for paying ‘Maintenance Fees’ to the Seller or the Collection Agent, in this case RCI.  The initial Maintenance Fees are stated in Part C of the purchase contract, but these may change from year to year.

A separate document entitled “Maintenance Fee Explanation”, which forms part of the contract, confirms that the annual maintenance fees are set in advance and are estimated - it also confirms that in some unforeseen circumstances the estimate may not be accurate and that “an exceptional Maintenance Fee may be charged”.

So the question is whether these invoices relate to ‘an exceptional Maintenance Fee within the terms of the Scheme Rules'?

Clause 4 of the purchase contract provides that capitalised words and expressions used in the contract, such as “Maintenance Fees”, have the meanings set out in the Scheme Rules.  

“Maintenance Fees" is defined in clause 1.22 of the "Scheme Rules” as sums in respect of: