ARDA - Timeshare's Best & Brightest Recognized

Started by Newshound, May 24, 2004, 07:23:28

Previous topic - Next topic

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


The American Resort Development Association (ARDA) yesterday published its 2004 ARDY and ACE (Circle of Excellence) award winners, which were formally announced at a gala ceremony and dinner during the Association's recently concluded Convention & Expo in Las Vegas.

ARDY award winners are chosen by panels of experts in such areas as design, marketing and resort operations and presented to individuals and organizations exhibiting outstanding achievements or best practices in a range of disciplines. This year, 56 categories were represented.

"In 2004, the experts on the judging panels really had their work cut out for them," said Randy Goodhope, head of ARDA's awards program. "We had a total of 434 submissions, up from 392 last year, and each entry looked like a potential winner to me."

The ACE awards honor those who have attained the very highest level of excellence in the resort industry, and those whose accomplishments and dedication spur the industry to new heights. Two of the ACE awards are given for lifetime achievement and volunteer leadership on behalf of the industry.

"ACE recipients have performed in a way that truly sets them apart from others and places them at the top of their profession," said Howard Nusbaum, ARDA's President.

For 2004, the ACE Volunteer Award was renamed to honor Anne W. Crawford, the very first winner of this award who passed away earlier this year. It recognizes her extraordinary volunteer service to the industry. A fearless and selfless leader, Anne was honored by the association she served by renaming the ACE Volunteer Award "The Annie." Because of his close working relationship with Anne Crawford, it is fitting that this year's winner is James R. Danz, the Executive Vice President of Princeton Resorts Group.

"James has selflessly given his time to this industry through his years as Chair of ARDA's meetings committee and in other ways as a terrific timeshare spokesman," said Nusbaum.

The ACE Lifetime Achievement Award was given to George Donovan, President and CEO of Bluegreen Corporation.

For 30 years, he has been an active leader at ARDA, serving as Chair of the ARDA Board of Directors, working on the ARDA Executive committee, the Long Range Planning committee, the ARDA Inner Circle, and the committees for Ethics, Membership, and Public Relations.

"George has addressed every major issue to face the industry with extraordinary focus and commitment. Believing that 'when a sale is made, an obligation begins,' he is an extraordinary leader, a man of integrity and an inspiration to others," said Nusbaum.

A list of all winners can be found at

The American Resort Development Association (ARDA) is a non-profit trade association located in Washington, D.C. ARDA represents the interests of resort developers and managers, including second home resorts, vacation timeshare developers, fractional interests as well as timeshare homeowners' associations and individual timeshare owners across the country.

Powered by EzPortal